First Hand Account of Pearl Harbor by Donald Stratton

Courtesy Amazon
Courtesy Amazon

It has been said that when an old person dies, it is like a library burning down. For the past 75 years, I have tried to share what I remember of World War II, but a day will come when I can no longer speak. Then what will become of everything I experienced on December 7, 1941? That’s why I wrote this account.


A little after 5:00 a.m. The overhanging deck on board the USS Arizona

I awoke on my cot. I stowed the cot away, then went to shower. Afterward I dressed in the clothes that sailors wore on Sundays—pressed white shorts, a white T-shirt, and my sailor’s hat. At 5:30, reveille sounded over the intercom. Belowdecks, men headed to the showers.

Read More (Reader’s Digest)

A World War II Enthusiast

13882505_10153528856811525_5399618252875916565_n Photo Courtesy of USSArizona.org

I went onto Facebook tonight and saw an interesting article in my newsfeed. It was published by USSArizona.org. The article features Donald Gay Stratton, a seaman on board the USS Arizona on December 7th, 1941. He is one of 6 remaining USS Arizona crewmen alive.

He is a very brave man and lucky to have survived the attack. He suffered burns to 70% percent of his body and was medically discharged in 1942. However, his burns did not prevent him from reenlisting in 1944. At the end of the war, he held the rank of Gunnery Mate 2nd class.He is truly a remarkable man! We need more courageous men like him in this world!

He wrote a book called All the Gallant Men: An American Sailor’s Firsthand Account of Pearl Harbor. The book is set to release on November 22 in conjunction with the 75th…

View original post 74 more words

Leave a Reply

